Asm. Evan Low Applauds AG Becerra’s Commitment to California Values

For immediate release:

SACRAMENTO- Assemblymember Evan Low (D-Silicon Valley) released the following statement applauding California Attorney General Xavier Becerra for adding Kentucky, Alabama, South Dakota and Texas to the list of states included in the AB 1887 ban today. AB 1887 prohibits non-essential taxpayer-funded travel to states that have enacted laws that discriminate against their LGBT residents. Assemblymember Low authored AB 1887, which went into effect on January 1, 2017.

“AB 1887 was enacted to ensure our taxpayer dollars do not fund bigotry or hatred. Attorney General Xavier Becerra’s action today sends a strong message that discrimination beyond our borders will not be tolerated. I applaud AG Becerra for upholding our California values and holding states accountable for their discriminatory policies,” said Assemblymember Evan Low (D-Silicon Valley), Chair of the California Legislative LGBT Caucus.