LGBT Advocacy Groups Denounce Trump’s Transgender Bathroom Protection Reversal

For immediate release:

SACRAMENTO—Members of the California Legislative LGBT Caucus joined Equality California, the Transgender Law Center, ACLU, and others today to denounce the Trump Administration’s recent reversal of transgender bathroom protections. The reversal was announced late Wednesday night in a joint letter from the U.S. Departments of Justice and Education.

“President Trump’s unrelenting assault on the LGBT community is shameful,” said California Legislative LGBT Caucus Chair Assemblymember Evan Low. “This latest directive singles out transgender youth and proves that the current Administration places politics over people.

Fortunately, the Executive Office does not have the power to singlehandedly change federal law. School districts nationwide are still legally required to comply with Title IX and protect transgender students. Schools that have protected the rights of transgender students should continue to do so and those that discriminate will still face liability in court.”

As President Trump pursues his agenda of hate, the California Legislative LGBT Caucus is committed to resisting his misguided and backward policies. We will do everything in our power to ensure transgender youth feel safe and protected.”

Transgender youth affected by the directive can call the Sacramento LGBT Community Center at (916) 442-0185 or the Gender Health Center at (916) 455-2391 for assistance.


Originally formed in 2002, the Caucus serves as a forum for the California Legislature to discuss issues that affect LGBT Californians and to further the goal of equality and justice for all residents in the state. Comprising both Senators and Assemblymembers, current Caucus members include: Chair Evan Low, Vice Chair Ricardo Lara, Senators Toni G. Atkins, Cathleen Galgiani and Scott Weiner, and Assemblymembers Susan Talamantes Eggman, Sabrina Cervantes, and Todd Gloria. The Caucus’ formation made California the first state in the country to recognize an official caucus of openly-LGBT state legislators.